• 125 Third-level Scholarships awarded North and South
  • 10 Year Anniversary Milestone of Awards
  • Launch of the All Ireland Scholarships Alumni Programme

Winners of the 2017 All Ireland Scholarship Awards were commended by President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins at an awards ceremony today, Saturday 25th November 2017 at the University of Limerick. Minister of State for Higher Education, Mary Mitchell O’Connor TD and the Permanent Secretary at the Department for the Economy, Northern Ireland, Andrew McCormick presented the students from the North and South with a third-level scholarship award. 

Sponsored by JP McManus, the educational scheme is set to provide financial assistance to many high achieving students who completed their Leaving Certificate/A Level examinations in 2017.

The high performing students scored an impressive tally this year, with 33 (33%) out of the 100 Republic of Ireland scholarship winners scoring over 600 points, which includes 11 (11%) who achieved a maximum of 625 points in their leaving certificate.

Congratulating this year’s recipients, Minister for Higher Education, Mary Mitchell O’Connor said; “I feel so privileged to be here today and meet with all these incredible students who have worked so hard to achieve their goals and dreams. You each have a bright and exciting future ahead of you and I wish you continued success in the future.” 

Sponsor JP McManus said, “It is a great honour and privilege for me to welcome the President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins to the 2017 the All Ireland Scholarships Awards. The President has been been a long-standing advocate for the quality of education and the importance of independent and critical thought and I am sure that seeing so many fine young men and women receiving awards to enable them to progress to Third Level Education will trigger many happy memories for him of his time as a renowned scholar and lecturer in NUIG”.

“I am also delighted to welcome Mary Mitchell O’Connor, Minister of State at the Department of Education with special responsibility for Higher Education and Andrew McCormick, Permanent Secretary, Department for the Economy NI and thank them for being with us here today”.

He added; “To the 125 scholarship recipients from North and South I say well done and congratulations on receiving this accolade. Your hard work and that of your teachers has paid off and my hope for you is that this award will help to progress you to the career of your choice and to further achievement and fulfilment”.  

Established in 2008, the scholarships have been set at €6,750 per annum in Ireland and stg£5,500 in Northern Ireland and will continue for the duration of the undergraduate programme chosen by the scholarship winners. The awards scheme is now celebrating 10 years since its inception with an additional injection of €32 million added to the Fund by JP McManus earlier this year, bringing the total to €64 million. To date, 1,246 students have been awarded a scholarship, with 656 having graduated from third level education.

The programme is administered by the Department of Education & Skills and the Department for the Economy with support from the Department of Education, Northern Ireland. To mark the 10 year anniversary, JP McManus launched the initiative of an All Ireland Scholarships Alumni Association to acknowledge and follow the progress of winners who have since graduated from 3rd level education, and to provide a self-managed platform for members to network and engage amongst themselves.

Press Release: Saturday 25th November