The All Ireland Scholarships were established by the JP McManus Trust in 2008 to provide scholarships to students.  

The value of the scholarships are 6,750 Euro per annum in Ireland and 5,500 pounds per annum in Northern Ireland and will continue for the duration of the undergraduate programmes chosen by the scholarship winners.

Participation in the scholarship scheme is confined to those who are exempt from the Leaving Certificate Fee or who are in receipt of the educational Maintenance Allowance from Northern Ireland authorities, and the scholarships are awarded on the basis of the results of candidates first attempt at the final secondary education examinations in Ireland or Northern Ireland.

The All Ireland Scholarships operate under the control of three Trustees Gerry Boland, Professor Roger Downer, and Pat Dowling, and are administered by the Department of Education and Skills, in Ireland and by the Department for Employment and Learning with support from the Department of Education in Northern Ireland.