The All Ireland Scholarship Awards were presented on Saturday 23rd November 2019 at University of Limerick. Joe Schmidt was the guest speaker at the ceremony.

Each recipient receives full academic financial support for the duration of their third level studies.

Schmidt joined an illustrious list of guest speakers such as Irish Presidents Michael D. Higgins and Mary McAleese; US President Bill Clinton; as well as other great sporting heroes, including jockey AP McCoy, rugby icon Paul O’Connell, Limerick hurling manager John Kiely and Irish soccer legend Martin O’Neill.

The 125 recipients were selected from a minimum of two highest-achieving students from each of the 32 counties, including seven winning scholars scoring the maximum 625 Leaving Cert points.

The most popular area of study among the scholarship recipients is medicine, closely followed by engineering and science.